General Scholarships
Named Scholarships
Past Award Recipients
Award Information

Award and Scholarship Recipients

Texas Choirmaster Award 

This award is reserved for a TCDA member with clearly superior choral conducting and musicianship skill with many years of performance success.  Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.  This award is not necessarily awarded each year. 

2023 Recipients


Choral Excellence Award

This award is based on the recipient’s contributions to choral music in Texas, mentorship and inspiration to colleagues and students, and continued advocacy for the future of choral singing.  Nominations made by TCDA members.

2023 Recipients

Young Director of Distinction Award

This award recognizes TCDA choral directors who have taught for seven years or less and achieved exceptional success in those years.  Nominations made by TCDA members. 

2023 Recipients

Innovative Programming Award

In recognition of the ingenuity and creativity of members in programming and the positive impact of such work on singers, audiences, and the choral art, TCDA seeks to recognize members who have created programs that demonstrate innovation, collaboration, and/or exceptional community engagement. Recipients should be current members of TCDA. Nominations made by TCDA members.

2023 Recipient

Choral Director of Distinction Award

This award is given annually to mid-career TCDA members with 10 years or more conducting experience who maintain high performance and literature standards, participate in TCDA activities through attendance and leadership, and promote choral music in the community.

2023 Recipients


TCDA Service Award

Not awarded every year, this select award is reserved for unusual or unique service to TCDA. Nominations are made by the TCDA Board.

2023 Scholarship Recipients


Undergraduate Scholarship Recipients

  • Donald L Bailey Endowed Scholarship ($1000) - Macaela Gross, Southern Methodist University
  • Cloys Webb Scholarship ($1000) - Hannah Watkins, University of North Texas
  • Past Presidents Scholarship ($1200) - Ian Henifin, Texas A&M Commerce
  • Jackie Cocke Scholarship ($1000) - Taryn Hemsing, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • James Matheny Scholarship ($1000) - Travis Driver, Baylor University
  • William Gorham Scholarship ($1,000) - Julio Villeda, Texas A&M Commerce
  • Mary Ann & Art Winden Scholarship ($4000) - Emily Patrick, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Kathy Hackett Memorial Scholarship ($2000) - Madelyn Zikogiannis, Texas State University
  • General Scholarship ($1200) - Destiny McConnell, Texas Tech University
  • General Scholarship ($1200) - Julissa Ramirez, Trinity University

Professional Scholarship Recipients

  • Jim and Glenda Casey Scholarship ($500) & Abbott-Ipco ($500) - Kenneth Rivens
  • Gandy Ink Scholarship (($1000) - Gabi Guest

Early Career Scholarship Recipients

General Scholarship ($500) - Bryan Aguillar
General Scholarship ($500) - Andrew Walters